TNFF 2016 Awards


Toronto, ON - The Seventh Annual Toronto Nepali Film Festival (TNFF) successfully concluded on March 20, 2016.  The festival took place at Innis Town Hall, University of Toronto on March 19th, 2016 and Noel Ryan Auditorium at Mississauga Central Library in Mississauga on March 20th, 2016.

The winner of the Audience Choice Award goes to ‘Laaz (The Shame)’ by Sushan Prajapati.  Laaz is a satirical story of Bhagwaray who is a recently freed bonded labourer in the plains of western Nepal. Amidst the government's historic decision to abolish bonded labour, the lack of an effective government program to help the freed labourers’ transition to the ‘free’ society, and the disputes among the contesting local political parties, Bhagwaray has difficulty finding a fabric to sew his underwear. The award carries a monetary value of CAD $1500.

‘Butte Jama’ by Kala Sangroula won the Jury Choice award. Butte Jama is the story of  Baishakhi who is a sweet little girl who lives with her grandmother in a Tajpuria village in the eastern plains of Nepal. Like her friends in the village, Baishaki wishes for a skirt with beautiful floral patterns for the auspicious festival of Dashain. The award carries a monetary value of CAD $500

An audience of over 500 that attended the film festival chose the Audience Choice award. The audience consisted of diverse range of people from the Greater Toronto Area including people from the Nepali diaspora, newcomer immigrants, film aficionados, film festival programmers, social workers, academicians, students, journalists, writers and artists. Laaz (The Shame) by Sushan Prajapati was chosen as the winner from a pool of eleven films that included Bhagyale Bachekaharu (Nepal Earthquake: Heroes, Survivors and Miracles) by Ganesh Panday, Butte Jama (Striped Skirt) by Kala Sangroula, Boy Across My Window by Kesang Tseten, Castaway Man also by Kesang Tseten, Chhora (Son) by Subarna Thapa, Drawing the Tiger by Amy Benson, Ramyata Limbu and Scott Squire, Gaantho by Saayad Ashok, Laaz (The Shame) by Sushan Prajapati, Maccha Ko Sapana (Gills and Fins) by Sanjay Chaulagain, Tears Alive by Padam Subba and Dipendra Lama, and The Dishwasher by Rajendra Thakurathi

Each film screened at the festival will be felicitated with an honorarium of CAD $100,  $150, or $200. The length of each film will delegate the honorarium amount. An award ceremony will be organized in Kathmandu later this year to felicitate the filmmakers with certificates of participation, honorariums and the awards.


The Toronto Nepali Film Festival has been taking place in Toronto, Canada since 2010. It was established with a goal of supporting and promoting Nepali filmmaking. Surendra Lawoti programmed the Seventh Annual Toronto Nepali Film Festival. TNFF collaborates with other film festivals and organizations such as Hot Docs, Reel Asian, SAVAC, Possible Worlds, European Union Film Festival, ASHA Toronto, NCHC, and NCCS to bring narratives of Nepal and its people to Toronto.